Erewhon Books

About Us

About Erewhon 1.png

EREWHON BOOKS is a new independent speculative fiction publisher. We opened in June 2018 and are starting to build our list with the aim of debuting our first season of new titles in 2020. We will focus on novel-length works of speculative fiction including science fiction, fantasy, horror, and other subgenres, but are open to other works of interest to SF&F readers.


The team so far


Liz Gorinsky, President and Publisher, started her editorial career at Tor Books, editing a list that included popular and acclaimed speculative fiction authors Felix Gilman, Mary Robinette Kowal, Liu Cixin, George Mann, Annalee Newitz, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Cherie Priest, Lev Rosen, Nisi Shawl, Brian Francis Slattery, Catherynne M. Valente, and Jeff VanderMeer; and anthologies edited by Ellen Datlow, David Hartwell, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, Ken Liu, and Ann and Jeff VanderMeer. She won the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Editor, Long Form, and has received seven nominations in that category. She also won the 2016 Alfie Award, designed and presented by George R. R. Martin, in the same category. She was part of the team that founded and acquired and edited short fiction and comics for that site for many years, and also acted as the reprint editor of Queers Destroy Fantasy.

Jillian Feinberg, editorial assistant. Jillian worked as an assistant editor for Book Smugglers Publishing for the past two years, starting in the summer of 2016. She worked in their short-story section: reading slush piles and editing manuscripts, as well as screening the occasional novella. She interned at The Experiment Publishing in 2016 and Market Partners International in 2018.

Peter Burri, business advisor. Peter Burri is the co-founder of the successful independent press The Experiment and has twenty-five years of experience in publishing operations and financing. 


Logo Design: Logo and type by Emma Boyes of Emma Boyes Papercut Art & Illustration.




From the 1934 Heritage Press edition of Samuel Butler's  Erewhon .

From the 1934 Heritage Press edition of Samuel Butler's Erewhon.